One of the configurations is the public setting of the board.
The default for this configuration is "Post in company directory." This makes it a Company board, which can be easily shared without making unnecessary duplicates .
Note: The company directory is a default channel containing all boards created by users from the same company, with the exception of private boards (see below). You can access it on the left side of the homepage.
Company board characteristics:
This configuration is ideal for generic boards that can be used for different customers, and which are useful to other people in your company.
- All users from your company can see the board in the company directory
- The board can be added to channels
- Users can subscribe to to the board and send it directly to viewers
- Other users can duplicate the board
Turning this option off will make the board private.
Private board characteristics:
- The board will not appear in the company directory or in Folloze search
- Only the owner can view or send the board
- The board can't be added to a channel
- If the owner decides to add editors and/or subscribers to the board, they will be able to see the board in the "My Content" tab, and send the board to others
Private configuration is ideal for:
- Personalized boards (e.g. those intended for a specific customer) which can't or shouldn't be used by other people from your company.
- When the board is still a draft and you don't want other users to use it yet.